Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Vensim Help

Navigation: Release Notes

Vensim 10.4.X-10.5.X (July 2025 - July 2026)

Scroll Prev Top Next More

All versions

 

•New causal tracing tool. We've redesigned the causal tracing tool. Click here for more information

 

•New document tool. We've completely redesigned the document tool. Click here for more information.

 

•Change to mouse functionality. There is a new context menu available when using the mouse. Right clicking on the sketch will display the menu. You can revert to the legacy functionality by clicking Tools->Options->Environment and selecting "Use legacy mouse right click functionality"

 

•Causal table, delay marking and colors can now be exported.

 

•Arrows can now have comments added, and have visual sketch comments attached.

 -        When creating a sketch comment, click the arrow head or circular handle to attach the comment to the arrow.

 -        On the arrow options panel, you can give the arrow a comment and tooltip.

 

•Configurable mouse double clicks. Under Tools->Options, there are two new options which allow you to control what happens when you double click something on the sketch (such as display equation editor or a graph/table).

 

•Comments now have a transparency setting.

 

•Sample models explorer. Click tools->Sample models, you can now browse all of the sample models and open them in an easy to use explorer.

 

•Major improvements to XMILE import (10.5.2).

 

•The interface says "stock" where it used to say "level", for example in the variable type filters.

 

•Vensim supports high-DPI displays on Windows.

 

•String variables can be changed in the Change Constants dialog.

 

•The equation editor can copy equations to the clipboard and reset its layout, and Enter now means OK. It also has a virtual keyboard, and a new dialog for setting a variable's subscripts.

 

Vensim PLE+

•Toolset editing. The analysis tools in Vensim PLE+ can now be edited in the same way they can in Vensim Professional/DSS.

 

•Diagram only mode : Vensim PLE+ can now operate in diagram only mode. We have a lot of users that use Vensim for diagramming only. Enabling this mode hides all the simulation tools. To use this mode, click the menu "View->Diagram only mode".

 

Vensim DSS/Professional

•MCMC sample and stats files can now be loaded via the dataset manager (like other .tab and .dat files).

 

•Control panel->Variables now lets you choose between the model and loaded datasets. Useful for building data models, or looking at a changing payoff over time. Drag/drop is enabled, so you can drag a variable from a loaded dataset and drop it on the sketch.

 

•New functionality when "loading a model as a dataset". To use this, click File->Open and select a VDFX file instead of a model. Now you get a list of variables plus the subscript control. This allows you to see exactly what is in a dataset.

 

•Kalman Filter

oBug fixes for non-constant measurement variance and driving noise matrices.

oSingular matrix problems treated as floating point errors (and therefore rejected in optimizations).

oKalman.prm file reading is more tolerant of anomalies like blank lines.

•MCMC

oBug fix preventing propagation of floating point errors influencing point acceptance.

oRevised options:

▪Easier specification of burnin and sample periods.

▪New: decimation of sample.

▪New: optional adaptive move scaling during burnin period.

oDraw from priors when initializing overdispersed MCMC samples (as for Random Multistart).

oUpdated convergence statistics.

oOptional k-means clustering of the sample.

•Sensitivity

oOption to vary NOISE SEED with stratification.

oImproved pipeline from MCMC simulations to Sensitivity runs. The special variables SIMULATION SAMPLE, SIMULATION WEIGHT and SIMULATION PAYOFF record MCMC output, and pass through to sensitivity runs that read it.

•Optimization & MCMC

oIncorporation of :SYNTHETIC data generation into the optimization control (.voc) interface.

oDialog reorganization for clarity.

oDraw from priors when initializing Random Multistart runs.

oImprove payoff weight/scale labeling.

oFix error in Overdispersed Poisson payoff distribution.

oImprove warnings and messages.

oKeep system awake during long runs.

oNew proportional transform option for calibration payoffs.

 

Vensim DSS

•Web publishing : Data is now included when a model is published to the web.

 

•Web publishing : Dashboards are now available.

 

•Improved mdldp64.bat for compiled simulation.

 

•Slightly improved XParallel Powell optimization.

 

•Vensim DSS now has a built in HTTP server which is useful for testing when you are publishing models to the web. To start/stop and launch a browser, click Tools->HTTP Server.

 

•Command-line launch of command scripts, supporting agent interaction (10.5+). With -log, the new SPECIAL>GETINFO, GETVARNAMES, GETVARATTRIB and GETRUNINFO commands report on the model and its runs, and Reality Check results are written to the log.